MTV turns in fist pumping for financial aid

The "My College Dollars" home screen

The "My College Dollars" home screen

From the TV station that has brought you gems such as “Jersey Shore” and “Teen Mom,” I’d expect MTV to be one of the last places to seek advice on financing higher education. MTV, in partnership with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation among others, is launching the application “My College Dollars” to help students navigate the confusion (and my experience, frustrating) world of financial aid.

“My College Dollars” is unique because it’s set up entirely through Facebook. The application takes information based on the student’s Facebook page to generate a list of scholarships and other opportunities he or she might be eligible for. More importantly, in my opinion, the application helps students with the dreaded Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) with FAQ pages and video tutorials.

It’s good to see MTV use its super powers for good instead of polluting our lexicon with phrases like “GTL” and “Gorilla Juicehead.” While those who tested out “My College Dollars” report some minor bugs still need to be worked out, I’m certain it will help a lot of students

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

