Nokia Lumina readies for a shootout in the iPhone corral

There’s a new kid in town this month with AT&T’s introduction of the Nokia Lumina 900 next week on April 8. We’ve reached an era where a new smartphone release frankly isn’t as exciting as it used to be – yes, I am a little jaded – but the Nokia Lumina is an interesting little introduction.

Holding it in my hand, my first thought is that this is a world apart from my very first phone, a Nokia my friends affectionately referred to as a “candy bar phone,” both for its shape and size. This is that Nokia’s sexy, sleeker older cousin.

It’s coming out at a $99 price point, which rivals the iPhone 4. The dimensions of the Nokia Lumina aren’t much bigger than the iPhone, though the screen is bigger, the design makes the boxy iPhone feel stocky and a little awkward even though they are roughly the same thickness.

Image

The Lumina is comfortable to hold in my hand, and my grip is smaller than the average person’s. I’ve often shied away from larger phones due to this reason.

Internally, there are two things I really like about this phone in comparison to the iPhone. First of all, there’s the access to LTE, compared to the iPhone 4’s 3G access, in available markets. Secondly, it has nearly twice the data storage base. That may not seem huge to the average user, but heavy users of video, music and those who like to take and record movies and photos will find this an added bonus.

As I’ve written before, I’m a big fan of the Windows operating system on phones, which the Lumina offers. Techies often complain about the lack of apps in the Wisconsin system, but I’ve always been able to access the apps I use on a regular basis.

If you’re looking for a phone with a Windows operating system at this price point, I’d encourage you to check this one out, if anything, just to put a little sophistication in your hands

Thephone is $99, and it’s with a two-year contract through AT&T. However, if you’re willing to head on over to WalMart, you can cut that cost in half.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

